How to Transfer Files Between Google Drive Accounts
Pinterest Whatsapp
Advertisement

Google Drive gives a generous 15GB of free storage. It sounds a lot but let’s remember that this space is shared by your files on Google Drive, Gmail, and Google Photos. So, when you run out of space on one of your Drive accounts, you can transfer files to another.

Most of us have more than one Google Drive account The Only Google Drive Guide You'll Ever Need to Read The Only Google Drive Guide You'll Ever Need to Read Google Drive is the perfect combination of online file storage and document management tools. We explain how to best use Google Drive on- and offline, by yourself and in collaboration with others. Read More , but Google hasn’t yet given us an easy way to transfer files from one Google Drive to another seamlessly. You have to rely on a workaround to move files from account to another.

How to Transfer Files Between Google Drive Accounts

If you want to move files from one account to another without downloading and re-uploading them, here’s what you have to do:

  1. Open your primary Google Drive account.
  2. Locate the files or folders you want to move to your secondary Google Drive account.
  3. Right-click on the file or folder and select Share. Or click on the Share icon (marked as “1” in the screenshot).
    Google Drive Share
  4. Type your secondary Google username. Click on Advanced.  Under Sharing settings, change the permission to Is Owner. Hit the blue Send button.
  5. Log into your secondary Google Drive account. Click on the Shared with me filter on the left sidebar to quickly locate the shared folder.
  6. Google Drive won’t allow you make a copy of the folder, but you can make a copy of the files inside it and then move them into a new folder or sub-folder to replicate the hierarchy of the original.
    Google Drive Make a Copy
    Right-click on each file (or select them all) and click on Make a copy. Rename the files appropriately and move them into a new folder.
  7. Go back to the primary account and delete the original folder from your drive and also from its bin.

You can also use Google Takeout to transfer the complete archive of your data to another account.

Note: If you’re going to transfer sensitive files, look into add-on Google Drive encryption tools 3 Useful Tools to Improve Google Drive's Security and Privacy 3 Useful Tools to Improve Google Drive's Security and Privacy Is Google Drive's integrated encryption enough to keep your private files safe from theft and intrusion? Let's find out. Read More .

Enjoyed this article? Stay informed by joining our newsletter!

Enter your Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. Cindy Farmer
    August 8, 2018 at 8:39 pm

    If the shared files had links that had been shared in other places, are those links the same? Will someone with a link to say an agenda that was in the original drive be able to still use that link to get to the file in the new drive?

  2. Mike Carrington
    August 1, 2018 at 10:52 am

    The "is owner" option is not available..