Why You Should Stop Using AutoSave in Microsoft Office 365
Pinterest Whatsapp
Advertisement

The AutoSave feature in Microsoft Office 365 can be a parachute for your forgetfulness. Yes, the AutoSave feature helps you recover your Office files, but there’s one important thing you should know about that little toggle button:

When AutoSave is on, your changes are continually saved to the original, so any changes you make overwrites the original and you cannot get it back.

How to Turn Off AutoSave in Microsoft Office 365

AutoSave On

Microsoft explains the AutoSave feature as a failsafe that automatically saves your file every few seconds so that anyone working with you on the cloud can instantly see the changes. But Microsoft has also removed the File > Save As command when you open a file via OneDrive, OneDrive for Business or SharePoint Online.

So, what can you do to keep working and keep the original file intact?

  1. Disable AutoSave by toggling the switch to the Off position.
  2. You can disable AutoSave with a registry tweak if you are an Office 365 ProPlus subscriber.
  3. Uncheck the AutoRecover setting (File > Options > Save > Save AutoRecover information every X minutes).

Save a Copy

Disabling AutoSave permanently for specific files would have been the best solution. But, this feature is not system-wide and it is on by default for every file you open from the cloud. So, you have to remember to switch it off for every file you open.

Microsoft recommends that you use File > Save a Copy to work collaboratively on a copy of the original document. Instead of using the old Save As command to create a file with a different filename, you can just save a copy of the original document and work on that.

Save a Copy

The always-on AutoSave feature isn’t a problem for those who don’t work with OneDrive. But if you do, be mindful of the pitfalls if you don’t want your original work to be overwritten. And hope Microsoft soon adds an option to turn off AutoSave for specific documents.

Enjoyed this article? Stay informed by joining our newsletter!

Enter your Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. Rob
    August 8, 2018 at 5:15 am

    "When AutoSave is on, your changes are continually saved to the original, so any changes you make overwrites the original and you cannot get it back."
    Incorrect information. you can go back any number of versions to the original. You can get it back with a couple of clicks. You should absolutely use auto save for important documents.

  2. Walter
    July 3, 2018 at 2:53 pm

    I don't believe you are correct when you state, "this feature is not system-wide and it is on by default for every file you open from the cloud. So, you have to remember to switch it off for every file you open." Maybe you're referring to the toggle button, in which case, this is true, but you can turn it off for the whole system and it will be off for every file you open.
    https://www.screencast.com/t/0Q7uFgxXLtg

    As I believe that saving of a shared document should be a conscious/purposeful decision, I'm turning it off by default. I've seen others argue that you can go back into the version history and restore previous versions but know what someone changed, and if they meant to change it is a total PITA, and I personally think it makes a lot more sense for people to change things only when they mean to do so. We've already had a number of cases in our office where people changed a spreadsheet without even meaning to, as they were searching around for information. (The changes I believe were mostly saved filters, changed orders of records, etc.)

    The turn off globally setting shows as the last option in this article:
    https://support.office.com/en-us/article/what-is-autosave-6d6bd723-ebfd-4e40-b5f6-ae6e8088f7a5

    • Saikat Basu
      July 9, 2018 at 7:08 am

      Valid point, Walter. Thanks for the observation.

  3. Michel Basilieres
    March 30, 2018 at 9:52 pm

    This is a solution without a problem. OneDrive automatically saves versions. If you change your mind, right click on a file in OneDrive and choose Versions.

  4. Dave Clark
    March 30, 2018 at 9:39 pm

    I got fed up with it yesterday and elegantly shut it off after it automatically kept switching on. I have an internal backup HD and built-in SD card reader on my laptop and sometimes have network issues so OneDrive gets whiny. I shut that off. The AutoSave switch is now grayed out, and off. Super-duper golly-gee-whiz update feature killed.

  5. dragonmouth
    March 30, 2018 at 12:32 pm

    "Instead of using the old Save As command to create a file with a different filename, you can just save a copy of the original document and work on that."
    Again, Microsoft arrogantly presumes to 'know better' what I and other users want/need. Sometimes I need to keep 3,4,5,6 versions of the same file while I am working on it. SaveAs allows me to give these versions names that are meaningful to me rather than to rename each copy that Office creates for me.

    • Saikat Basu
      March 30, 2018 at 5:44 pm

      Yeah, this little change almost snuck up on us. Microsoft underestimated the problems of the change. But, that's the most we can do now. Unless MS decides to bring back the Save As option.

      • dragonmouth
        March 30, 2018 at 6:05 pm

        There is always LibreOffice and other replacements. :-)