Affiliate Disclosure: By buying the products we recommend, you help keep the site alive. Read more.
Managing a huge Facebook friends list is tricky. From sorting through hundreds of posts in your News Feed to choosing who you share your stuff with, you might get overwhelmed sometimes.
Facebook offers many privacy controls and even lets you change the audience of a post as you share it. However, there are probably people you’ve friended on Facebook that you’d rather not send updates to. Maybe you’re only staying friends with someone to avoid hurting their feelings, or are friends with your boss and don’t want him to see your weekend activities.
If these types of scenarios bother you, there’s a Facebook tool that will help. It’s called Restricted List, and you can find it by visiting your Settings page. Click Blocking on the left sidebar, and look for Restricted List at the top of the page. The Edit List link will let you add some lucky friends to it.
When a friend is on your Restricted List, they won’t see anything that you share to your friends. If you share something to the public, or to a mutual friend’s Timeline, they could still see it, though. Your friend won’t know when you add them to your list.
You can use this feature to remain friends with someone but prevent them from seeing your status updates. Hopefully you aren’t friends with people you don’t want to interact with, but this makes it a little easier if so. If you have so many Facebook friends that you can’t keep track of them, it’s probably time to start deleting some friends.
Did you ever with for a Facebook feature like this? Let us know how you use the Restricted List in the comments!
Image Credit: Stokkete via Shutterstock.com