How to Block Someone on Snapchat
Whatsapp Pinterest
Advertisement

While it’s a nice idea to assume everyone will get on with everyone else, it isn’t the reality. This is especially true on social media, with friendships being forged and broken quickly and easily. With that in mind here’s how to block someone on Snapchat.

A Brief History of Snapchat

Snapchat is a photo-sharing social media app that has been around since 2011. In that time it has amassed millions of users and developed a reputation for being a quick and easy way to send short videos and pictures to your friends. It isn’t for everyone, but its fans swear by it.

Other platforms have risen up to compete with Snapchat in the years since, so its popularity has waned. However, if you’re still using the app you may have run into one or two people you really don’t get along with. Which is why it’s important to know how to block someone on Snapchat.

What Happens When You Block Someone on Snapchat?

What Happens When You Block Someone on Snapchat?

There’s a lot of reasons why you might want to block someone on Snapchat.

Maybe you’ve had a falling out with a friend and you don’t want them contacting you. Maybe you’re being stalked or harassed, and blocking the other individual is the only way you can protect yourself.

Snapchat has been under fire before for not protecting its users enough, and the platform’s spotty track record on safety features made our list of everything wrong with Snapchat according to millennials Everything That's Wrong With Snapchat, According to Millennials Everything That's Wrong With Snapchat, According to Millennials We've compiled the biggest Snapchat problems right now---issues that have led this millennial to consider stopping using Snapchat altogether. Read More . This is where blocking comes in.

Once you block someone entirely from Snapchat, they won’t be able to see your Stories, contact you directly, or send you Snaps. Think of it like the big red exit button on your relationship.

How to Block Someone on Snapchat

Step 1: Go to Your Friends List

First, swipe-right to go to your Friends list. Scroll through your list until you find the person you want to block, then click on their icon (or avatar) to open up your chat with them.

Once you do, you’ll see their profile page. Click on the three dots in the top right-hand corner of their profile. Once you click on this list, you’ll see numerous actions you can take, including the ability to Report or Block your friend.

There is more than one way that you can find this menu. You can also swipe-right to go to your Friends list, then scroll down until you find the person you want to block.

Instead of clicking on their avatar to go to their profile page, click and hold on their avatar to bring up a “quick list” of options. Choose More.

Once you choose More, you’ll see the ability to Report or Block your friend—the same as before.

Report is for when someone is harassing you to the point where you feel unsafe. In those cases, you’ll need to report the harassment to someone higher up. If you’re simply not happy with this ex-friend of yours, and you just don’t want to talk, blocking is more appropriate.

To block them, press Block.

How to Block Someone on Snapchat Press Block

When you press Block, a new screen will pop up that says “Are you sure you want to block [user name]?”

Press Block again, and then you’re done! This user is completely blocked from viewing your Stories and Charms, sending you Snaps, or talking to you via Chats.

Step 2: Unblock Someone

Let’s say you block the wrong person by accident, or you’re no longer mad at the person you blocked and you want to make sure they can reach out to you again.

To unblock someone, go to your Snapchat profile page, then click on the Settings icon, seen in the top right-hand corner. Once there, you’ll be taken to your Settings page. Scroll down until you hit the Account Actions section.

Then click Blocked.

When you arrive at your “Blocked” list, you’ll find a list of people you have blocked through your app.

To unblock a specific person, scroll down until you find their username. Then click the X beside it. Once you click on the X beside their name, Snapchat will prompt you again by asking, “Are you sure you want to unblock this Snapchatter?”

If you’re sure you want to unblock them, click Yes.

If you’re not sure, click Cancel. Your block list will remain the same as before.

One last thing to note before we move onto the next section: if your block list is completely cleared after you unblock your friend, you’ll get a screen congratulating you on getting along with everyone.

What if you don’t want to block someone entirely, however? What if you want to block them from certain parts of your profile, like your Stories? Well, you can do that too.

How to Block Someone From Your Snapchat Story

Blocking specific people from certain content is good for users who have a lot of people following them. It’s also good if you want maximum control over who sees what.

Step 1: Go to Story Settings

How to Block Someone on Snapchat Story Settings

First, go to your Snapchat profile page. Under Stories, click on the three dots to expand your Story menu. When the menu pops up, click Story Settings.

Step 2: Adjust Custom Settings

How to Block Someone on Snapchat Custom Story Settings

Once you’re in Story Settings, you can adjust who sees your Snapchat Stories. Everyone means that your Stories are public.

My Friends means that only your friends see your Snapchat Stories. Snapchat should have you on this setting by default.

You can also use Custom, which allows you to block specific people from seeing certain content that you create. Click on that.

How to Block Someone on Snapchat Custom Privacy

Inside Custom, you’ll find Custom Privacy. Here, you can scroll through your list of friends and choose who does and doesn’t get to see your Stories. They’ll still be able to contact you outside of these stories, though.

Another way you can reach this menu is by going to your profile page. Instead of clicking on the three dots next to Stories, you can click on the gear icon for your Settings in the top right-hand corner of your page.

How to Block Someone on Snapchat View My Story

Once you’re in Settings, scroll down to the Who Can… section and click on View My Story. This will once again bring you to the page where you can adjust your Custom Story settings.

How to Block Someone on Snapchat Updated Settings

After you change your settings, you might be prompted with a new screen that warns you that all changes you’ve made will be applied to future Snaps. If you’re okay with the changes you’ve made, click Okay.

If you aren’t happy with the changes, or you want to go back and tweak them, click Cancel.

Choose Your Friends Wisely

Now that you know how to block someone on Snapchat, you can rest assured that your time using the app will be a little easier. One of the best defences, however, is to be careful with who you add as a friend. It’s alright to be picky and not accept every request that comes your way.

Are you new to Snapchat and still looking for more information on the app? Then check out our attempt to answer the question, what is Snapchat and is it right for you? What Is Snapchat and Is It Right for You? What Is Snapchat and Is It Right for You? What is Snapchat? How does Snapchat work? Is Snapchat right for you? We answer all of these questions and more. Read More

Enjoyed this article? Stay informed by joining our newsletter!

Enter your Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *