Security Social Media

How to Hide Your Online Status in WhatsApp

Dan Price Updated 05-02-2020

It’s hard to look back and remember a time when the world operated on SMS. Services like WhatsApp have made chatting with your friends and family easier than ever.

Advertisement

However, that ease of communication has come at a price. We now expect to be able to see whether the recipient is online and reading your messages at that very moment.

Unfortunately, we’ve all heard of arguments breaking out over whether messages were sent/received/seen/read. If you’d like to restore a bit of privacy to your instant messaging, here’s how to hide your online status on WhatsApp…

How to Hide Your Online Status in WhatsApp

WhatsApp makes it fairly straightforward to disable your online status, but there’s a trade-off which we’ll discuss later in the article.

For now, to hide your WhatsApp online status, follow the steps below:

Advertisement
  1. Open WhatsApp.
  2. Click on the three vertical dots in the upper right-hand corner.
  3. Tap on Settings.
  4. From the Settings menu, select Account.
  5. Next, tap on Privacy.
  6. Choose Last Seen from the list of options.
  7. In the pop-up window, choose Nobody.

So, what about that trade-off? By disabling your online status, it means you will not be able to see other people’s online status either. It prevents people from snooping on other users while simultaneously masking their own actions.

Sadly, there’s also no way to set the visibility of your online status on a user-by-user basis. For example, it’s impossible to let your family and friends know that you’re online while stopping your boss from seeing the same information.

Other WhatsApp Privacy Options to Change

While you’re in the Privacy menu, it’s worth paying attention to a couple of the other WhatsApp privacy options that are available.

You can also restrict the visibility of your profile photo, about page, and status. The final setting is to disable read receipts. Like your online status, disabling read receipts is reciprocal. Disabling yours means that you won’t be able to see receipts from other people.

To learn more about using WhatsApp, here are some essential WhatsApp tips and tricks 9 Essential WhatsApp Tips and Tricks You Should Know Here are some essential WhatsApp tips and tricks you may not know exist. But once you do, you're likely to make use of them. Read More you need to know.

Related topics: Online Privacy, WhatsApp.

Affiliate Disclosure: By buying the products we recommend, you help keep the site alive. Read more.

Advertisement
Whatsapp Pinterest

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. Iqbal
    June 6, 2020 at 9:12 am

    nothing new. anybody who has been to settings should know it.

  2. Ansiwen
    May 7, 2020 at 4:28 pm

    In case google still leads people here: Use the web interface (https://web.whatsapp.com) and this userscript for your browser: https://github.com/ansiwen/userscripts/

  3. Carl
    October 3, 2019 at 10:48 am

    Sorry dude none of these things work as im sitting with two fone to test these directions.. The question posted was to "HIDE" your online status, and that far from hiding your "LAST SEEN."

  4. Carl
    October 3, 2019 at 10:48 am

    Sorry dude none of these things work as im sitting with two fone to test these directions.. The question posted was to "HIDE" your online status, and that far from hiding your "LAST SEEN."

  5. Diogene
    May 15, 2018 at 7:45 pm

    I know a faster way:
    1- uninstall the f....g traking app

    • Ash Mehta
      October 10, 2018 at 12:44 pm

      HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

  6. Sta te briga
    May 15, 2018 at 2:02 pm

    It shows how to hide last seen. Online cant be hidden like that. Only way is to turn on airplane mode while in whatsapp and then close the app from background after you're done and turn off airplane mode.

    • Cat
      May 22, 2018 at 9:14 am

      ^ totally agree. Error between 'last seen' and 'online', but this comment above is a good (partial) work-around.

  7. Waleed
    May 15, 2018 at 9:58 am

    But if you choose last seen to nobody then you also won't be able to see others last seen as well. So this trick sucks!