It can get a little confusing to understand what exactly you’re sharing with whom on Facebook. Frequently changing and complicated settings often result in people sharing a lot more than they intended.
If you delve into your Facebook privacy settings, however, you can gain complete control over almost each part of your profile, including who can see your list of friends.
By default, everyone can see all your friends on your list, but you can keep most of your friends list hidden and privy only to yourself:
- Go to Settings > Privacy.
- Under the Who Can See My Stuff section, click Edit for Who can see your friends list:
- Public: Anyone with a Facebook account can see your list of friends.
- Friends: Only people you’ve added as friends can see the list.
- Only Me: Only you can see your friends list, but your friends will be able to see a list of mutual contacts.
- Custom: You can select which friends can see your full list of friends versus those who can only see mutual friends.
A second methond lets you get to your Friends privacy settings by going to your Friends list and clicking the Pencil icon and Edit Privacy.
A third option is available from your Facebook profile. If your Friends list is public, you can click the little arrow in the top-right corner of the box displaying nine of your friends and click Edit Privacy.
Do you prefer to keep your friends list completely private or do you find it helpful to keep it your list visible to the rest of your contacts on Facebook? Let us know in the comments.
Explore more about: Facebook.