Everything You Need to Know About Instagram Screenshot Notifications
Whatsapp Pinterest
Advertisement

When using Instagram, you may come across content you wish to forward to your friends. Which invariably means you need to screenshot that stort, post, or DM.

However, when you do that, does Instagram notify people when you screenshot a story, post, or DM? Here’s everything you need to know about Instagram screenshot notifications.

Why You May Want to Screenshot an Instagram Story, Post, or DM

There are several reasons why you may want to take an Instagram screenshot.

These include wanting to download a meme which you’d like to share elsewhere. Maybe it’s a picture of scenery you think will make a nice wallpaper. It’s also possible you want to download a recipe video in order to avoid scrolling through hundreds of posts later when you come to cook the dish.

Stories are the most common place where you may feel the need to take a screenshot. This is mainly because media shared via stories is ephemeral and no longer available after 24 hours.

Irrespective of Instagram’s notification policies, you should be mindful of people’s privacy especially when you screenshot their personal pictures and videos.

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot a Post?

No, Instagram doesn’t notify users when you take a screenshot of their post.

Posts are essentially all of the photos and videos you see on Instagram’s home feed or in the Explore tab. Instagram also doesn’t send an alert when you screen grab a post right from someone’s profile page.

It’s worth noting that Instagram has a bookmarking feature for posts if you don’t want to download media locally. It lets you flag pictures and videos for later. These are accessible from a special section inside the Instagram app and won’t be downloaded to your phone’s gallery.

Plus, you have the option to group your bookmarked posts into separate collections. So, for example, you can create one for recipes and another for your favorite posts about dogs.

You can save a post by tapping the Bookmark button present at the bottom right corner of any image or clip.

To view your bookmarked posts, head to the fifth Profile tab on the Instagram app and touch the three-bar icon in the top-right. Select the Saved item. Here, you can also build new collections by tapping the Plus button.

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot a Story?

At the time of writing, other people can’t see when you screenshot their story.

However, in 2018, Instagram experimented with notifying users when anyone took a screenshot of their story. Instagram dropped the feature shortly after. But you should keep a tab on the Instagram app’s changelog in case the functionality returns in the future.

Alternatively, you can use one of these ways to screenshot Instagram stories without getting caught How to Screenshot an Instagram Story Without Getting Caught How to Screenshot an Instagram Story Without Getting Caught Screenshots of Instagram Stories are easy. We outline five different methods and one workaround that won't get you caught. Read More .

Instagram has an Archive feature for people who are capturing screenshots of the stories they posted directly through the in-app camera. The social network, by default, retains a copy of all your stories. To browse or delete them, open the Instagram app and go to your profile page. Tap the three-bar icon in the top-right and enter the Archive.

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot a DM?

Yes, Instagram notifies recipients when you take a screenshot in private conversations (also known as Instagram DMs Instagram DMs: Your Questions, Answered Instagram DMs: Your Questions, Answered Instagram DMs allow you to communicate with family and friends. And here's everything you need to know about Instagram DMs. Read More ), but only for disappearing messages. Similar to stories, users can send expiring photos and videos personally to an individual or a group. When someone takes a screenshot of these, the delivery status—instead of Delivered or Opened—will read “Screenshot”.

On the other hand, if you take a screenshot of the entire chat or regular texts and images, the person won’t be notified.

Didn’t know you can send disappearing messages in private conversations? Then check out these other useful Instagram features you should be using 8 Useful Instagram Features You Should Be Using 8 Useful Instagram Features You Should Be Using We've unearthed some useful Instagram features you may not be using yet but which will help you get more out of Instagram... Read More .

Does Instagram Notify When You Screen Record

No, Instagram doesn’t notify users when you screen-record videos in posts and stories.

Interestingly, this applies to disappearing DMs as well. Hence, it’s sort of a loophole for secretly capturing personal stories on Instagram. You can simply capture a screen recording and then take a screenshot of the video file later on.

As we mentioned earlier, though, you should respect the sender’s privacy if they’ve sent you a sensitive photo or video in private.

You should also keep in mind that Instagram may fix this loophole in a future update.

Can You See If Someone Screenshots Your Instagram Story?

As of now, Instagram doesn’t offer any setting you can switch on to get notified when someone takes a screenshot of your story. Hopefully, screenshot notifications for stories will make a comeback. On Android, you can sign up for Instagram’s beta channel to be the first one to get new updates.

If you’re worried about strangers misusing your photos and videos, you can protect your account by switching to a private profile. To turn your Instagram profile private, go into the Settings and switch on the Private Account option. Your existing followers won’t be affected by this, hence it’s best to check your Followers list to ensure only the people you know have access to your gallery.

Alternatively, you can take advantage of Instagram’s Close Friends feature. That lets you share your stories to a specific set of users while keeping your profile publicly visible.

You can configure the list by tapping the Close Friends option located in your profile’s hamburger menu. In the Your List tab, add or remove your close friends. When you’re done, you will have a new green option before publishing a new story. Enable it to share the story only with users in your Close Friends list.

How Does Instagram Work?

Instagram is rich with various types of content. Unfortunately, taking a screenshot or screen recording is the only native way to save photos and videos from Instagram. Therefore, it’s important to have an understanding of how Instagram handles screenshot notifications.

To summarize, for now, Instagram does not notify people when you screenshot a story, post, or DM.

Instagram is a large social network and there may still be parts of it you have trouble figuring out. For help with that, take a look at our beginner’s guide explaining what Instagram is and how it works What Is Instagram and How Does It Work? What Is Instagram and How Does It Work? Instagram is a social networking service for sharing photos and videos. Instagram is owned by Facebook and uses similar mechanics. Read More .

Explore more about: Instagram, Notification, Online Privacy, Screenshots.

Enjoyed this article? Stay informed by joining our newsletter!

Enter your Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *