Entertainment

How to Delete Recently Watched on Netflix

Dan Price Updated 26-03-2020

Netflix does a lot of things exceptionally well, but content discovery is not one of them. It’s surprisingly difficult to dig deep into the company’s library to find enjoyable new stuff to watch. Instead, users often have to rely on the not-so-user-friendly secret Netflix codes (how to enter Netflix’s secret codes How to Enter Netflix's Secret Codes Here's how to enter the secret Netflix codes to access the streaming service's entire library of movies and TV shows. Read More ).

Advertisement

In theory, you shouldn’t need to use these codes. The Netflix apps have a list of recommended shows that are generated by sophisticated algorithms that analyze the content you have already watched.

But what if you and your partner share a single Netflix profile? It’s one of the common mistakes people make using Netflix 7 Mistakes You're Making While Using Netflix We have compiled a list of mistakes you're making on Netflix. The hope being that by finding a better way of doing things you'll be able to get more out of Netflix. Read More and will make the algorithm become confused.

Luckily, all hope is not lost. You can remove the movies and TV shows you’ve watched from your Netflix history, and prevent the algorithms from considering them when suggesting new content. So, here’s how to delete your Netflix history to improve your recommendations.

How to Delete Recently Watched on Netflix

netflix watch history

It is easy to delete your watch history on Netflix, just follow the simple step-by-step instructions below:

Advertisement
  1. Navigate to Netflix.com and sign into your account.
  2. Click on the primary Netflix user’s name.
  3. Click on the small arrow in the upper-right corner of the screen.
  4. In the dropdown menu, choose Account.
  5. Go to My Profile > Viewing Activity.
  6. You will see a list of all the content you’ve watched.
  7. To remove a TV show or movie from the list, click on the Delete icon next to the show’s name.

Remember, if you’ve watched multiple episodes of a show, you need to remove them all for Netflix’s algorithms to stop considering them. You can either do this manually, or click Hide Series? to remove the show as a whole.

You can also edit the thumbs-up and thumbs-down ratings and older star ratings you have given content by clicking on the Rating tab in the top-right corner.

To learn more about using Netflix, here’s how to change your Netflix region How to Change Your Netflix Region and Watch Region-Blocked Content Has Netflix blocked content where you live? Here's how to change your region in Netflix and watch restricted content. Read More and how to change the Netflix playback speed How to Change the Netflix Playback Speed Have you ever wanted to change the Netflix playback speed? In this article we'll show you how to watch Netflix faster (or slower). Read More .

Related topics: Netflix, Troubleshooting.

Affiliate Disclosure: By buying the products we recommend, you help keep the site alive. Read more.

Advertisement
Whatsapp Pinterest

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. SE
    January 15, 2019 at 6:52 pm

    This is one of the most aggravating processes I've encountered on the Netflix website. The "Most Recently Watched" list should be (1) easier to locate, (2) able to sort as well as delete titles (3) able to hold your place in the list when you click on a title to view its details.
    A major confusion is that while editing the list, if I click on a title to read a description, the back arrow takes me back to the list, but lands in a different spot, or it starts over at the top. And the worst is that when it starts over at the top, the shows I deleted before exiting the list show up again, making me unsure whether the first time I deleted them took effect. Do they need to be deleted again? Why did the titles remain after I deleted them the first go-round? I know Netflix says the process takes 24 hours, but shouldn't the website interface at least maintain/show my current editing activity on the list and not appear as if I hadn't done anything?)