How to Delete Your Google Account
Pinterest Stumbleupon Whatsapp
Advertisement

That’s it. You’ve had enough. Google knows too much about you, has been spying on your browsing history for too long, and exerts an unhealthy level of influence over the apps you use every day. It’s time to delete your Google Account.

If you’ve ever tried to delete an online account, you know providers don’t always make it easy. Some only let you “disable” the account, while others have a mandatory cooling off period where your account is in limbo. Luckily, deleting your Google Account is fast, easy, and painless.

How to Delete Your Google Account

How to Delete Your Google Account delete google

  1. Go to accounts.google.com.
  2. Enter your Google Account credentials and hit Sign In.
  3. Go to Account Preferences > Delete your account or services.
  4. On the next screen, select Delete Google Account and data.
  5. Google will prompt you for your username and password.
  6. You will receive an email confirming your deletion.
  7. Click on the link to complete the process.

If you change your mind and want to recover your account, it may be possible if you act swiftly. Go to accounts.google.com/signin/recovery and enter your former Gmail address. If a recovery is possible, Google will notify either immediately or via an email to your old backup address.

Have you deleted your Google Account? Was the process straightforward? You can leave your stories and feedback in the comments section below.

Image Credit: Pe3k via Shutterstock

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. Mae Laffer
    December 22, 2017 at 12:20 am

    Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed! Extremely helpful info specifically the closing phase :) I handle such info a lot. I was seeking this certain information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  2. Domingo Patel
    December 21, 2017 at 10:44 pm

    In fact no matter if someone doesn't understand after that its up to other visitors that they will help, so here it takes place.

  3. dragonmouth
    December 21, 2017 at 1:07 pm

    Deleting an online account (in this case Google) is like deleting files off an HD, it is a logical delete, meaning you only delete your connection to it. The account information is still there, you're just not able access to it. If your account was actually physically deleted then you would not be able to recover it, no matter what you did and/or how fast you did it.

    Besides, once something is posted/recorded on the Internet, it stays on the Internet, in some form, forever.

    LOGICAL delete - only the directory entries pointing to the location of the data are overwritten. Data can still be recovered with the use of proper utilities.
    PHYSICAL delete - both the directory entries and the data are overwritten with zeros or other characters. For all intents and purposes, data cannot be recovered.

    • hog
      January 7, 2018 at 3:25 am

      Sud but you're right

  4. David
    December 21, 2017 at 10:32 am

    The idea is not bad in my opinion - your data (so: your privacy) is their power.
    After facebook it would be my second account I quit. (but due to the last remaining services I use I'm not ready to leave it at all...)
    Main issue I think is to get proper substitutes of the well known Google applications:
    maps - Openstreetmaps
    email - just get a new one
    chrome - firefox
    android - root and not flash gapps
    cloud space - owncloud

    I'm sure about this is not an option for everyone (especially the simple users), but I would apprechiate it :)

  5. Leroy Carey
    December 21, 2017 at 9:30 am

    I reckon something genuinely special in this website.

  6. Luiza Dias
    December 21, 2017 at 8:53 am

    Faceta, vocĂȘ precisa tocar na pegada dela.