How to Deactivate Kik and Delete Your Kik Account
Kik is a popular messaging app for Android and iOS, but it isn’t for everyone. So, if its appeal has faded for you, it may be time to delete or deactivate your Kik account.
This may be because none of your friends use it any more, or because you’re a parent and want to delete your teenager’s account over privacy concerns.
Whatever your reasons, here’s how to delete Kik permanently or deactivate your Kik account temporarily.
How to Deactivate Kik Temporarily
If you don’t want to permanently delete your Kik account, you can take the less intensive option and deactivate it. Make sure you understand what Kik is before resorting to this, though.
As it turns out, Kik doesn’t let you deactivate or delete your account through its mobile app. You’ll need to do this through its website, though you can visit the site on your phone or using a computer, depending on your preferences.
To start, visit the Kik account deactivation help page for some information. This explains that deactivating your profile will result in the following:
- You won’t receive any Kik messages or emails about your account.
- People cannot search for your Kik username.
- Your name will disappear in the contact lists of those you’ve talked to.
If you change your mind after deactivating your Kik profile, you can reactivate it by signing back in as normal. You’ll need your password to do so. If you need to reset it, you can do so as long as you have access to your email account.
To temporarily deactivate your Kik account, head to Kik’s deactivation page [Broken URL Removed]. You’ll need to enter the email address associated with your account. Kik will then send you a link to deactivate your profile. Follow this to complete the deactivation.
How to Delete Your Kik Account Permanently
Like temporary deactivation, you must delete your Kik profile through the website portal. We recommend reviewing the information on Kik’s account deletion help page so you understand what this does first.
When you delete your Kik profile:
- Your profile is no longer accessible, and you can never recover it.
- You won’t receive any more Kik messages or emails from the team.
- Nobody can search your username on Kik.
- After a short time, your profile will be deleted for people you’ve talked to.
If you’re sure you want to permanently delete your Kik account, open the Kik permanent deletion page and enter your username and email address, and explain why you’re leaving. Confirm that you want to do this, and click Go to delete it.
We recommend backing up any important messages before doing this, as you’ll lose them forever. Also, keep in mind that people you’ve chatted with will likely still be able to see your profile for a few days, since it’s cached on their device. This will expire before long.
New Messaging Apps to Try After Deleting Kik
Thanks to this article you should now know how to delete your Kik account. It’s not tough, but you should make sure you really want to take this step before doing so. Once you’ve deactivated or deleted Kik, simply uninstall the app from your phone to fully remove Kik from your life.
Now that you’ve left Kik, take a look at the messaging apps you can use on your phone and computer .