How to Compare Lightroom Edits to the Original Image
Pinterest Whatsapp
Advertisement

One of the reasons Adobe Lightroom is such a powerful photo editing tool 3 Reasons All Photographers Should be Using Adobe Lightroom 3 Reasons All Photographers Should be Using Adobe Lightroom A lot of people aren't quite sure where Lightroom fits into things. It's an image editor… but it's not as good as Photoshop? Here's everything explained. Read More is its non-destructive nature. You can make a ton of edits to a photo, export the image as a new copy, and quickly reset all those changes with just one click of a button. And it also makes it easy to compare your edited photo to your original.

There are two main ways you can view your comparison.

Method 1: Side-by-Side Comparison

In the first method, you have three different view options.

  1. To start editing your photo, go to Lightroom’s Develop tab.
  2. Once you’ve made some edits, you can turn on the comparison feature by clicking the YY button underneath the photo.How to Compare Lightroom Edits to the Original Image Lightroom Comparison 1 670x437
  3. The first time you click it, you’ll see two photos side by side: your original photo on the left and the edited version on the right. How to Compare Lightroom Edits to the Original Image Lightroom Comparison 2 670x318
  4. Click it again, and you’ll see half of the photo with the edits on the right, and the other half will be the original image on the right.How to Compare Lightroom Edits to the Original Image Lightroom Comparison 3 670x346
  5. Click it again, and you’ll see the original image on top, and the edited photo beneath it.  How to Compare Lightroom Edits to the Original Image Lightroom Comparison 4

To turn off the comparison feature, click the button with a square beneath your photo.

Method 2: Toggle Switching

With the second method, you can toggle between the original and edited photo with a keyboard shortcut. Tap the Backslash key, which is usually found above the Return or Enter key on most keyboards.

Tap the button once, and you’ll see the original image before any edits were applied. Tap it again, and you’ll revert back to the edited version of the image.

Why You Should Use This Feature

Being able to compare your original and edited photo is a great way to make sure that you’re not losing certain elements of the image in your edits. You might find that you’ve desaturated a color you wanted to keep, or darkened a part of the image and lost definition of a subject you wanted to highlight.

Stepping back and comparing your edits to the original image is a great way to ensure that you’re getting the exact look you were going for.

Enjoyed this article? Stay informed by joining our newsletter!

Enter your Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *