On Facebook, if someone hides you, do they still show up in your friends list? If they block you, do they still show up in your friends list?
In other words, you will have no idea that you have been blocked or ignored...
If you want to use sophisticated technical terms, sure (:
If someone blocks you, yes. Blocking means you won't be able to see or contact each other on Facebook. However, they still will be present on your friends list. Think of it as a digital purgatory.
Hiding on the other hand, is used to prevent status updates from that individual. You will still be able to message each other and what not, just no new updates from them.