Pinterest Stumbleupon Whatsapp
Ads by Google

Anyone who works with Photoshop for any extended period of time probably knows how frustrating it can be to make changes to your design, only to wish that you could revert to a specific stage in your design.

Photoshop’s Undo button will only get you so far and the History feature requires you to scroll through what could be dozens of steps to find the exact spot you want to go back to. That’s why you need this great feature that makes it easy to revert to an earlier stage with the click of a button.

Once you get to a point where you know you’re satisfied with your design, open your History panel. You can access this by going to Window History. Click the menu button in the top right-hand corner and select New snapshot. Alternatively, you can click the Snapshot button (shaped like a camera) at the bottom of that window.

Snapshot

This will open up a dialog box where you can choose the name of your snapshot (Photoshop defaults to Snapshot 1, Snapshot 2, etc), and decide if you want to save all your layers (full document), your layers merged, or just the layer you are on.

Snapshot2

Ads by Google

After you click OK, you’ll find the Snapshot listed in your History panel.

If you decide at any point to revert to one of your Snapshots, you will lose all the steps that came after it in the History panel, but your layers will be maintained. It’s also worth keeping in mind that Snapshots are only available in Photoshop during your current session.

Once you close Photoshop, all elements in the History panel will be removed.

How do you prefer to undo multiple steps in Photoshop? Let us know in the comments. 

  1. tom
    July 20, 2016 at 11:23 am

    Thanks, good tip to know.

  2. Neelansh Mathur
    July 20, 2016 at 9:39 am

    If we save the psd file will we still retain the snapshots?

    • GodSponge (EB)
      July 21, 2016 at 8:14 am

      Snapshots aren't saved in the file, they are a part of Photoshop's history. As it says in the article, once you close Photoshop, you lose your snapshots. If you want "saved" snapshots, you'll have to save a copy of the file manually.

      • Neelansh Mathur
        July 21, 2016 at 9:30 am

        Thanks for the Info. :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *