Pumpic Adds Group Albums to Its Photo Storage and Sharing Services [Updates]

Ads by Google

The cross platform photo storage and sharing site,¬†Pumpic.com¬†has added group albums to its services, which allows users to share their albums with other Pumpic¬†members for photo uploading. Pumpic is a free, unlimited photo sharing solution that can be accessed on the web, iOS¬†and Android, and PC and Mac. All of a user’s uploaded photos are automatically synced between devices with a Pumpic app install.

The new group album feature allows users to share selected photos or entire albums with individual friends or a group of friends. Invited friends can in turn upload their pictures to the same album, but the feature does require that they sign up with Pumpic. Browse-only access can also be emailed to non-Pumpic members.

After you give Pumpic access to your mobile and desktop photo library, all the photos on your device get backed up to your account. ¬†There’s no option to selectively indicate which photos you want uploaded, though photos can be deleted from your account. The storage site also first uploads a 1-megapixel version of your images, and then after that it uploads those same images in full resolution where they can be shared and re-downloaded.

In addition, Pumpic connects with Facebook, and tagged photos can be automatically shared between registered users.

Pumpic maintains that their storage service will always be free, but they do plan to add in the near future paid services. At this time, you can only backup JPG/JPEG photos to the site, but Pumpic says it expects to enable video uploads by early 2014.

Ads by Google

Source: TechCrunch

6 Comments - Write a Comment

Reply

Kelly B

I’ll have to check this out! I like that it is cross platform.

Bakari Chavanu

Yep, it’s pretty good for a version 1 release. If it catches on, I expect it to get better.

Reply

Kelly B

This app is not actually on Android yet. Just a download that tells you it’s coming soon…

Bakari Chavanu

Thanks Kelly, for letting us know that. I didn’t see the notice when I visited the webpage. Thanks for the update.

Reply

Anthony

This app and company is bogus. It uploads all your pictures immediately weather ur using the phone app or desktop client and now when you want to delete pictures their is not even an option. While downloading the desktop client it also gave my computer a virus which luckily I was able to clean out. Only option they have for delete is hide. Therefore ur pics are still stored on their servers no where for the user to control. It is a reason why it’s free. I bet they use your pictures to exploit you, spam the web with all your personal pictures so that they can earn an profit while still providing free service. Beware DONOT INSTALL OR USE. Stick with trusted cloud services like Google, Skydrive, Dropbox etc..

Bakari Chavanu

Anthony, thanks for letting us know about this. Hopefully the developers will read your comment and address this problem.

Your comment