Pinterest Stumbleupon Whatsapp
Ads by Google

There are valid reasons for deleting one’s own Twitter account. Maybe it’s killing your productivity How Do You Know When You're Overdosing On Social Networks? How Do You Know When You're Overdosing On Social Networks? Just like anything, there are different levels of social media use. Some things are more severe than others. And, of course, something else that plays into it is how frequent these things occur and when... Read More and leading to an addiction to tech How to Recognize and Overcome Your Tech Addiction How to Recognize and Overcome Your Tech Addiction Overcoming tech addiction doesn't mean ending your use of that technology, it just means using technology to improve the quality of your life. This guide shows you how to manage your online cravings. Read More . Maybe you’re sharing too much info online Online Privacy: Do You Share Too Much Information? Online Privacy: Do You Share Too Much Information? Sharing has always been a prominent part of what the Internet is and how it functions. And with social networks exploding in popularity in the past several years, sharing is probably the one aspect we... Read More . Or maybe you want to focus more on your real-life relationships 4 TED Talks To Revolutionize Your Social Relationships 4 TED Talks To Revolutionize Your Social Relationships The best TED Talks are the ones that plant seeds in your heart, which later grow into life-altering changes. These videos provide insights into social psychology and give you some food for thought. Read More .

Sure, you can address all of these issues without obliterating your Twitter account, but drastic times call for drastic measures — and maybe you’re at a time in your life when you really need to excise Twitter from your day-to-day routine.

Fortunately, deletion is straightforward and easy! Just follow these steps:

  1. Visit the Twitter website and log into your account.
  2. Click on your profile photo at the top right, then select Settings from the dropdown menu.
  3. Click Account in the left sidebar menu.
  4. Scroll down and click on the Deactivate my account link.
  5. Lastly, click on the Deactivate @username button.

Once deactivated, you have to wait 30 days for your account to be fully deleted. If you log into your account at any time during the 30-days waiting period, you will reactivate your account, so make sure you don’t log in again.

Despite how important social media has become 12 Social Media Facts and Statistics You Should Know in 2016 12 Social Media Facts and Statistics You Should Know in 2016 Here are some interesting facts and statistics about the social media landscape that show where we are today and where we might eventually end up during 2016. Read More , sometimes you just have to break away from the pact and go against the grain — do not feel guilty or shamed for deleting your account.

How often do you use social media like Twitter? Would you say you’re addicted? Why do you want to delete your account? Let us know in the comments!

Ads by Google

Image Credit: Twin Design via Shutterstock

  1. Vatsal Bhandari
    May 18, 2016 at 2:18 pm

    Deleted my account few days back as it gets confusing to keep track of all the information/news available on Twitter.

    • Joel Lee
      May 27, 2016 at 1:33 am

      That's true. Twitter can be a mess unless you learn all of the power user tricks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *