Pinterest Stumbleupon Whatsapp
Ads by Google

Snapchat has grown to massive popularity over the last few years, now with 100 million daily users, and it’s managed to become the go-to communication platform for many people between the ages of 13 and 25.

If you use Snapchat, you’ve probably noticed the “Best Friends” feature — a publicly displayed list of the people you chat with most often. There’s no way to turn this off or choose who makes the list, so you may have concerns with showing the world who you chat with. What those concerns are is your business — whether you’re worried about that girl who’s not your girlfriend showing up as your best friend, or you’d just like to keep your closest connections private. In any case, while there’s no official setting to remove someone from your Best Friends list, there is a workaround that allows it to be done.

How Does Snapchat’s “Best Friends” Work?

Your Best Friends list on Snapchat is just a way to keep track of the people you chat with most often. It appears at the top of your main friend list, making those users more accessible when you’re sending a new snap, but it also appears publicly on your profile.

But how is it calculated? It’s pretty simple, actually.

You may have noticed that every user has a “score” — a measure of the total number of snaps sent and received since joining Snapchat. With that in mind, a similar score is assigned to individual conversations between you and each of your friends. The more you chat with a particular person, the higher your friendship score becomes. To determine who makes it onto your Best Friends list, Snapchat looks at these scores and lists the friends you chat with the most, in order of your friendship score.

Ads by Google

The Best Friends feature makes it super convenient to quickly send snaps to your closest friends, but again, you may not want to share your best friends with people viewing your profile (or looking over your shoulder).

What Do Snapchat’s “Friend Emjois” Mean?

snapchat-emojis

Snapchat recently added “Friend Emojis” to the Best Friends list — little icons that say various things about your Snapchat relationship 12 Surprising Things All Snapchat Users Should Know 12 Surprising Things All Snapchat Users Should Know Honestly, from cryptic smiley faces to the elusive replay feature my enjoyment of Snapchat is always tempered by the sneaking suspicion that I'm missing out on something. Read More with each of your best friends. Here’s what they mean:

  • Gold star: appears next to someone when one of their snaps was replayed in the last 24 hours.
  • Baby: appears next to new friends.
  • Double pink heart: appears next to your #1 best friend when you’re also their #1 best friend for two months.
  • Red heart: appears next to your #1 best friend when you’re also their #1 best friend for two weeks.
  • Gold heart: appears next to your #1 best friend when you’re also their #1 best friend (for less than two weeks).
  • Smile: appears next to your best friends.
  • Smirk: appears next to someone when you’re one of their best friends, but they’re not one of yours.
  • Grin: appears next to someone when you share the same #1 best friend.
  • Sunglasses: appears next to someone you share a best friend with.
  • Fire: appears next to someone when you’re on a “Snapstreak,” along with the number of consecutive days you’ve snapped each other.

How To Remove Someone From Your Snapchat Best Friends

There’s no official way to do it, but removing someone from your Best Friends list on Snapchat is pretty simple. All you have to do is block them and immediately unblock them, thus resetting the score for that particular conversation.

To do this, open Snapchat and tap the little ghost icon at the top of the camera screen. Select “My Friends,” which will show you your entire friend list as well as your current Best Friends. Tap on the user you’d like to remove, select the gear icon, and choose “Block” from the list.

IMG_3814

After you block someone, they’ll disappear from your Best Friends and your main friend list, so you’ll have to search for their username and add them again. (Alternatively, you can select “Blocked Users” in your account settings and unblock them there.) After you do this, they will be on your friend list and available to chat with you, but they will have disappeared from your Best Friends list. Rinse and repeat for anyone else you’d like to hide.

It’s important to note, however, that they will still be eligible to become a Best Friend again if you chat with them a lot — so it’s a good idea to watch the list and repeat the process as needed. Friendship scores seem to reset to zero once a week, so you’ll probably want to check back weekly.

That’s all there is to it — if you ever feel the need to remove someone from your Best Friends on Snapchat, this is currently the best way to do it. If you’re savvy with programming, however, you could look into adding a simple Xcode macro to hide your Best Friends list.

If you have any problems, questions, or suggestions to help others get the most out of Snapchat Everything You Need to Know About Using Snapchat Memories Everything You Need to Know About Using Snapchat Memories Snapchat's building on core features, shifting Snapchat from being the platform of self-destructing photos and videos, to a direct competitor of your camera roll, Facebook Albums, and Google Images. Here's how. Read More , we’d love to hear them. Let us know your thoughts in the comments below!

  1. Charley
    November 15, 2016 at 12:37 pm

    If you remove someone from your snapchat will you still appear on there snapchat friend list?

  2. Judipee
    March 25, 2016 at 1:57 am

    My boyfriends ex is my friend on snapchat and next to her it showed we shared a same mutual best friend. He and i are eachothers best friends on snapchat and i told him before that it bothered me and he said they were just friends but they seem to talk all the time on snapchat. Yesterday the emoji next to her name disappeared completely. I'm pretty sure he blocked then unblocked her so that i wouldnt get suspicious but that makes me moreso suspicious

    • lewl
      April 19, 2016 at 1:31 pm

      we can make him jealous @jackgainz

  3. Jolene
    February 3, 2016 at 4:16 am

    Does the person get a notification when you re-add them?

    • Anon
      September 30, 2016 at 9:34 am

      Yes

  4. Penny
    January 16, 2016 at 10:51 am

    I dont want the list of blocked users showing on my settings pages. How can I remove that?

  5. dave
    January 14, 2016 at 12:17 pm

    hahahaha I should have read the comments before doing this. I am not being questioned about why I deleted them hahahaha halp

  6. Beckaboo
    January 11, 2016 at 3:01 am

    This did NOT work for me. They never disappeared from my best friends list. I only looked like a jerk for deleting and re-friending someone.

  7. h1ccups
    December 30, 2015 at 12:41 am

    Hi, I did this blocking and unblocking process but the friends hasn't reappeared in my friends list. Does this mean I have to add them again and if so is there a way of preventing this?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *