One of the major features that users demand from Google+ is the ability to control from whom they receive notifications. Customizing who is allowed to see your posts is great for controlling your privacy. What about controlling who can annoy with you with all their posts? Thankfully, the fine folks at Google have rectified the situation by allowing users to control their notifications for all kinds of options.
Users can control whether or not they receive notifications from pretty much anything that happens on Google+. The list of setting changes is extensive, but it still leaves out two types of notifications. You will always be notified when someone adds you to his or her circles, and when someone comments on one of your posts. Every other type of notification is tweakable.
The complete list of notifications that can be changed is as follows:
- Share with you individually
- Select ‘Notify about this post’ (when sharing to a circle you’re in)
- +Mention your name
- Invite you to a hangout
- Invite you to play or send you messages from a game
Source: Google+ Blog