Google Chrome Can Now Sync Multiple Browsing Profiles [News]

Ads by Google

chrome logo   Google Chrome Can Now Sync Multiple Browsing Profiles [News]Do you often use Chrome’s ability to sync all your bookmarks, extensions, apps, etc. across computers? It’s a pretty handy option which lets you use your own configuration of Chrome anywhere you go. But what if more than one person is using the computer? Who gets to sign into Chrome and sync his details across computers? Well, you don’t have to worry about that anymore.

With the latest stable version of Google Chrome you can create multiple browsing profiles on the the same computer, switch between them easily and sync all of them across different computers. Not all users have to be signed in, so if one user wants his data to be synced and another doesn’t, this is entirely possible.

First of all, to sync your Chrome data with your Google account, go to the wrench menu and choose “Sign in to Chrome”. Now, if you want to add more users, go to “Options/Preferences” in the wrench menu, choose “Personal Stuff” and click on “Add new user”. When you do that, Chrome will immediately create a new user with a random name and icon, and will open a new browser window for that user. You can now edit each user and give it the proper name, icon, and sign it into a Google account to sync it.

new chrome3   Google Chrome Can Now Sync Multiple Browsing Profiles [News]

Ads by Google

The implementation is very cute – you can choose different icons such as people, animals, foods, etc. for each profile, which is then added to the Google Chrome icon in the task bar. You can have different browser windows for different users, and differentiate between them using these personal icons.

new chrome 2   Google Chrome Can Now Sync Multiple Browsing Profiles [News]

According to Google, the new feature “isn’t intended to secure your data against other people using your computer, since it just takes a few clicks to switch between users.” They are providing the service merely as a convenience for people who already share computers.

Source: Google Chrome Blog

Write a Comment

Your comment