Email delegation has been available to Google Apps users but you can only grant access to users in the same domain. Gmail users can now grant access to their account to other Gmail users.
The uses for granting access are endless. You can give your assistants or colleagues access to your email account, allowing them to check and send emails on your behalf. If you have more than one Gmail account, you can now access your accounts in a secure and convenient manner without having to constantly log in and out of each account or keep two browsers open. Of course the only Google service you will be able to access is Gmail – all other services such as Google Reader, Calendar and Docs will not be available.
In order to activate this service, go to Settings > Accounts and Import > Grant access to your account.
From there you can add any email accounts you wish to gain access to your account.
An email will be sent to the other account with a confirmation link. After refreshing, you should be able to access both email accounts by clicking on a small arrow next to the email address shown at the top right hand corner of the screen. Any emails sent from the delegated account will be distinguished, by appearing as having been sent on behalf of the original account.
The second new feature is the ability to revert your contact list to its original state, for up to 30 days after any changes have been made. Inadvertently deleted a contact, or worse yet, an entire group? Something went wrong when you were syncing your mobile device with your Gmail contacts? By going to Contacts > More Actions > Restore Contacts, you can revert your contact list to its original state anywhere from 10 minutes to 30 days in the past.
What do you think of Gmail’s new features? Let us know in the comments.