Pinterest Stumbleupon Whatsapp
Ads by Google

synchronize website I have several websites that I maintain for clients. I need to have up to date live copies of their data in case something goes wrong with their webhosts. I keep weekly backup copies of the data but what if a user uploaded a new report or entered new information 10 minutes after the backup?

If the site went down and was restored from the day before backup, then that data would be gone.

Another instance where this works really well is when you have a project that has several web developers working on it.  They each need synchronize their local website copies daily and this can be automated as well.


By setting up FTP Synchronize we can keep a local copy of the entire website that automatically updates every three hours and can be set off manually at any point as well. Sounds good? And how about this – it is also super easy to use and free!

We start by downloading the application. It is a 655KB file.  When it completes its installation we will need to set it up. You should now see a screen that looks like this:

synchronize website

Ads by Google

We need to tell the application what FTP site it should be mirroring as well as what local folder to use as your home directory. Click on the settings button to set up your options like so:

synchronize website

Your options are as follows:

  • Allow deleting files from target folder: This allows you to remove files from your local folder that have been deleted on the remote folder. You can uncheck this to save these files as sort of a backup.
  • Check for updated files daily: This option is supposed to check for file and folder modifications at 12:01 AM but my scheduled run seems to be every 3 hours.
  • Restore from tray in case files were updated: this pops up the application to alert you that files have been modified.
  • Start on Windows startup minimized: This allows FTP Synchronize to automatically start in the background.

When you hit the synchronize button or wait for the daily run the application first connects to the FTP site:

website synchronization

Now if this is your first time syncing this can take some time. It will first take an inventory of what is on the FTP site. Then it will compare the files to your local directory.

website synchronization

When the application finishes syncing it will report back to you what files have changed. In my instance both copies were identical so nothing was copied, modified or deleted.

This is a very helpful application to install on all your web developers computers or on a local server to keep a second copy of your data. If you have never lost data before due to a disaster this may seem trivial but I assure you he who laughs last – usually has a backup!

And if you are curious as to how you can set up an FTP site yourself quickly and easily check out this post by Varun here. How To Set Up An FTP Site With An Easy Front End [Windows] How To Set Up An FTP Site With An Easy Front End [Windows] Read More

  1. Mario Kempes
    September 20, 2016 at 12:05 pm

    Does it let you handpick what folders to backup? Else it would backup useless cache folders.

  2. Richard Frisch
    May 25, 2010 at 11:55 am

    I use an automated form of WordPress backup for my clients' and my blogs. This emails me a copy of the database and the website once a day. That way I have the information in at least 3 places: original website, the email in the cloud and locally on one of my computers. Since I also backup my computers the local backups are also backed up.

  3. Aibek
    May 23, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    I second the Webmaster.

    Plus it should be noted that the program is only useful for sites that don't run any database server. For instance using the tool for WordPress sites would only backup actul WordPress files but almost nothing from the content.

  4. Webmaster
    May 22, 2010 at 1:30 am

    Hi Karl,

    I have a concern here. What if someone else is managing the website & I as the SuperAdmin simply maintain a backup copy that can be used in case something goes wrong. Now if the User accidentally deletes the online copy & also does not have a local copy with him & he contacts me only AFTER the scheduled backup on my computer runs (when the process has also deleted the copy in my backup). This only means that I should NEVER mark the option for files in backup to be deleted.

    Do you feel my logic is correct or is there a better option?

  5. Webmaster
    May 21, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    Hi Karl,

    I have a concern here. What if someone else is managing the website & I as the SuperAdmin simply maintain a backup copy that can be used in case something goes wrong. Now if the User accidentally deletes the online copy & also does not have a local copy with him & he contacts me only AFTER the scheduled backup on my computer runs (when the process has also deleted the copy in my backup). This only means that I should NEVER mark the option for files in backup to be deleted.

    Do you feel my logic is correct or is there a better option?

    • Aibek
      May 23, 2010 at 10:40 am

      I second the Webmaster.

      Plus it should be noted that the program is only useful for sites that don't run any database server. For instance using the tool for WordPress sites would only backup actul WordPress files but almost nothing from the content.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *