Facebook Timeline Now Available To All [News]

Ads by Google

facebook logo 300x3002   Facebook Timeline Now Available To All [News]Facebook profiles around the world are due for a facelift as the social networking giant rolls out its new Timeline feature to anybody who wants it. The new profiles are set to be the biggest shake-up the service has seen since the Like button was introduced, changing the way users view and interact with profiles.

Timeline has been designed from the ground up to enable Facebook users to tell a story, complete with a cover page, featured stories and events. Once the service has been activated, users have a week-long grace period during which they can get their Timelines into shape, removing unwanted stories and highlighting happier times.

facebook timeline1   Facebook Timeline Now Available To All [News]

As well as a new way of browsing the site, Timeline also introduces new social applications which can be integrated into profiles. Examples include a Netflix app which lists recently watched movies, RunKeeper which broadcasts GPS work-out information and Spotify for highlighting favourite or last-played tracks.

facebook timeline2   Facebook Timeline Now Available To All [News]

Facebook Timeline is also accessible via mobile web at m.facebook.com and via the official Facebook for Android app. The service will be coming to iOS soon, but as yet no date has been given.

Ads by Google

In order to activate the new Timeline right now, head over to the signup page and click Get Timeline. For privacy advice when it comes to upgrading to the new profile check out out this article.

Have you tried Facebook Timeline? What do you think? Decided against it? Tell us why in the comments, below.

11 Comments - Write a Comment

Reply

Afaq Alam Ansari

Thanks a lot for telling… hope timeline is not much confusing.

Reply

Dipal Raval

Facebook is my real life.I can conversation and debate easily to my group.Share my idea with friend also link, i’ve shared with my group.This new timeline is really helpful for facebook users.I was a upset that I hadn’t joined Facebook earlier so that I could go back out of in time.You always define very extra ordinary post.Thanks for sharing great post,Its always helpful for us.

Reply

Sean

I’m not so sure it’s out for everyone yet… Last I heard, it has only been released in New Zealand.  They’re rolling it out slowly ;)

Tim Brookes

According to the Facebook Blog it’s global now, just head over to facebook.com/timeline to try it out.

Reply

Sheila Warner

I’m adopting a wait-and-watch approach toward Timeline. While I see merits to it, it’s not something I’m too excited about. Also, it’s a sure sign that Facebook wants to keep “innovating” so as to keep Google+ at bay.

Reply

Joel Lee

I wasn’t aware that apps could create new boxes on the Timeline page. That’s pretty cool. Otherwise, I’m rather indifferent about the new Timeline. It’s neither good nor bad, just different.

Reply

Slywlf

I had been led to believe we were all being put on the Timeline version whether we want to or not – if that is not the case please let us know! I have friends who are on the verge of deleting their accounts over this apparent forced change.

Tim Brookes

I’m not sure to be honest. At the moment it’s still opt-in, so you have the choice of keeping the old profile. 

There may come a time, however, that Facebook does force the change for everyone. If that is the case then I’m probably also going to sever ties with the service, especially since I hardly use it anyway.

I guess we’ll have to wait and see, but it’s odd to think the company is happy with two different profile versions floating about indefinitely.

Victor Stanescu

it will be made mandatory, it’s just that Facebook didn’t say when ;)

Reply

Tim Brookes

Yeah, that’s a pretty cool way of extracting data without changing the way your profile appears to everyone. Ideal for anyone who isn’t comfortable about the change but is still curious, thanks for pointing it out!

Reply

Rose Rodent

I added timeline to one of my “spare” FB accounts (yeah I know, one each, but many people have extras for various reasons) and immediately found that something I marked as private is now shared with everyone. I sent an error report, we watch and wait. Meanwhile, my friends list is visible to all and sundry despite the setting showing “Only Me”

Your comment