Pinterest Stumbleupon Whatsapp
Advertisement

Now, every Facebook user is searchable by anyone else on the social network. Facebook announced that it has removed the privacy setting that allowed users to remain hidden from Timeline searches. Facebook reasoned that only a small percentage of its 1.2 billion users were using the privacy setting in the first place. According to them, the best way to limit what people can find about you on Facebook is to choose who can see the individual things you share.

The “Who can look up your Timeline by name?” was a Facebook feature that moderated the visibility of your account through a search from the search bar on top. You could decide if you wanted to be found by everyone or selectively stay visible to your friends and friends of friends. Facebook’s Chief Privacy Officer Michael Richter said that this privacy was glitch prone as people could still come to your Timeline by clicking your name in a story on the News Feed. Furthermore, it made things confusing for a circle of friends or the ones in the same Facebook Group as they couldn’t locate each other through the search bar though they knew each other personally. Anyone who had the old setting active, should see a notification as the one below:

Facebook Notification

Facebook’s Graph Search has introduced different ways to search through the circle of friends. Facebook has also improved its privacy features and now gives you more fine-tuned controls over each individual items you share. The announcement post linked to below gives you a refresher on the account controls to keep in mind while sharing.

Everyone has an opinion on Facebook’s privacy changes. Tell us yours. Does this change make it more convenient, or does it really bother you?

Source: Facebook Newsroom

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *