Following the security measures of companies like Google and Apple, Evernote has added three new security features to its line of applications. The new security features include two-step verification, access to a log that records every time your account was accessed in the last thirty days, and the ability to revoke any version of an Evernote app on your phone or computer from your Evernote Web Account Settings.
For now, the verification feature is only available to Evernote Premium and Evernote Business users, but the other two features are available to all Evernote users.
The two-step verification, also known as the two-factor authentication, process provides you with a verification code whenever you’re asked to provide your Evernote username and password. You will typically only need to use the verification code when logging into the web browser version of Evernote, or when installing an Evernote app on a new device. To get started with the verification process, link to the Evernote Web Settings page and make sure that all versions of your Evernote apps (including Skitch, Penultimate, Evernote Food, and Evernote Hello) are updated.
If you ever lose your phone or it gets stolen, you can log in to the web version of your Evernote account (Settings > Applications) and revoke access to your Evernote apps on any of your mobile devices. You can also revoke Evernote-supported third-party apps and services, such as Everclip, Pocket, and ifttt.com, from your devices.
Your Evernote web account also includes an Access History page that logs each time your Evernote account is accessed on any device and third-party apps.
If you have lots of sensitive data in one or more of your Evernote apps, you will want to take advantage of these new security services.