Pinterest Stumbleupon Whatsapp
Advertisement

Sharing photos from big events, or even from your day-to-day life, with friends and family can be an arduous task. Unless all of you are iOS and Mac users, in which case it can actually be very simple. And Windows users can get in on the action, too.

The first thing you’re going to need to do is turn on iCloud sharing. Go to Settings > iCloud > Photos and, at the bottom of the screen, toggle iCloud Photo Sharing on. (On Mac, go to System Preferences > iCloud > Options next to photos, and make sure iCloud Photo Sharing is checked. Windows users will have to download iCloud for Windows How to Access & Manage iCloud Drive Files from Any Device How to Access & Manage iCloud Drive Files from Any Device iCloud Drive is a handy tool, but accessing your files can be a little confusing since Apple's cloud storage experience really differs depending on your platform or device. Read More  to turn the setting on.)

To create a shared iOS photo album go to the Photos app and tap the Shared tab. Tap the plus (+) button and a dialog box will open up where you can enter the name of your album. Next you will be prompted to invite people from your contacts to the album. Use contact iMessage numbers or emails to add them to the album, and once you’re done, tap the Create button. (You can add up to 100 contacts to a shared album).

Once the album is created, you can go back in and add more contacts. Open the album and tap the People tab. You can invite more people, remove people from the shared album, make the album public on iCloud.com, turn notifications for the album on and off, and delete it.  Users can access the shared albums on the iPhones, iPads, or Macs.

While you can’t invite Android users to contribute photos to the album, you can share it with them by making the album public on iCloud.com. No one can see the album unless they have the link.

Each album has a limit of 5,000 photos (and videos), but they don’t count toward your iCloud storage limit. That said if you do hit the 5,000 image mark and need to clear out some space for new photos, only the creator of the photo album can delete images, while the rest of the people in the photo album can delete only the images they posted.

To add images you’ve taken on your iPhone Did You Know the iPhone's Basic Photo App Can Do This? Did You Know the iPhone's Basic Photo App Can Do This? Apart from being a home for all of your device's photos and videos, Photos is full of surprises. Read More , open it and tap the plus (+) button and you can upload images from your phone. Interactions in Apple’s photo sharing is limited to likes and comments. When you open up a photo, you can see who commented on and liked the images, who uploaded it, and what date it was uploaded.

How do you share your photos with your family and friends? Let us know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *