WhatsApp and Telegram are some of the world’s most popular messaging services. With free unlimited messaging, all sorts of cool features, encrypted chats, and apps for every device, there’s a lot to love about these services.
However, one confusing aspect of both these apps is hidden in plain sight. Whenever you send a message in WhatsApp or Telegram, one or two check marks appears below it. These communicate useful information to you, and if you’re not sure what these mean, we’re here to explain.
In WhatsApp, a single gray check means that your message has been sent, but not delivered to the other person. Two gray checks means that your message made it to the other person, but they haven’t seen it yet. When the other party has opened your conversation and seen the message, you’ll see two blue check marks below it.
For Telegram, you’ll see a clock icon when the app is sending your message. One check signifies that your message was delivered and the other party was notified. Two check marks means that the other person opened your conversation and saw the new message.
Note that these check marks also appear in group chats. For WhatsApp, the double gray and double blue check marks only appear when all members have received or seen the message. On Telegram, as long as one person receives and sees the message, you’ll see the double checks.
If you don’t want other people’s messages to get blue check marks, you can turn off read receipts in WhatsApp (there’s no way to do this in Telegram). Open the app and go to the three-bar menu, then tap Settings. Tap Account > Privacy and uncheck the box for Read receipts. If you disable read receipts, you won’t see them from others. There’s also no way to disable these for group chats.
For more, check out everything you should know about WhatsApp privacy.
Do you find read receipts useful, or have you turned them off? Let us know if you knew what these checks meant down in the comments!
Image Credit: Bacho via Shutterstock