Pinterest Stumbleupon Whatsapp
Ads by Google

Privacy is a hot topic in our connected world. It seems that every device and service, especially your smartphone, contains settings to change for maximum privacy Smartphone Privacy Settings You Need To Activate Today Smartphone Privacy Settings You Need To Activate Today Smartphones ship with plenty of default settings that could be leaking your info. Let's dive in and tweak them. Read More .

While you might not consider your gaming consoles under that category, you’d be surprised to know that you actually have quite a bit of control over privacy on your PS4. If you want to limit the amount of info PS4 players see about you, here’s the place to check.

Head to Settings > PlayStation Network/Account Management > Privacy Settings to get started. You may have to re-enter your password. Once you do, you’ll see four headers. Some of the same settings appear under multiple headers. Here’s a quick lowdown of what you’ll find in each:

Sharing Your Experience lets you hide your activity on PSN. Here you can decide if Anyone, Friends of Friends, Friends, or No One can view your recently played games and earned Trophies The 7 Easiest PlayStation Platinum Trophies You Can Earn The 7 Easiest PlayStation Platinum Trophies You Can Earn If you're looking to earn a ton of PS3 trophies with minimal effort, these seven titles will help you beef up your profile in no time. Read More . You can also disable the ability for people to tag you in videos and stop sharing these to social networks Facebook Privacy: 25 Things The Social Network Knows About You Facebook Privacy: 25 Things The Social Network Knows About You Facebook knows a surprising amount about us – information we willingly volunteer. From that information you can be slotted into a demographic, your "likes" recorded and relationships monitored. Here are 25 things Facebook knows about... Read More .

Connecting with Friends can change how people locate you. Use it to stop anyone from sending you friend requests, or prevent yourself from being found through searches.

Ads by Google

Managing Your Friends List and Messages is the hub for adjusting your Friends settings. You can block messages from anyone but friends, prevent friends from requesting to watch your gameplay, or turn off the Close Friends feature. The latter will prevent your real name from showing.

Protecting Your Information contains only settings found in other headers. You’ll find the option to change the “players you may know” feature and prevent close friends of close friends from seeing your real name.

It’s worth taking a few minutes through these options and making sure they’re set to your preferences. Many of these settings were added to the PS4 well after launch, so you may not have set them originally.

Do you like sharing on your PS4, or do you fly under the radar? Let us know if you had to change any privacy settings!

Image Credit: Jirsak via Shutterstock

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *