Unlike, say, Dropbox, Evernote does not offer a revision history, your content all syncs as-is. This means you could potentially lose any note you accidentally delete from the trash, or any content you accidentally delete from a specific note. If you share a particular notebook other users might make changes you don’t like. You get the idea: information goes away sometimes. As with any software, backups are the only real answer for that. Take matters into your own hands: back up the notes, notebooks and other information you store in Evernote.