Will restoring my HP Pavillion laptop by pressing F11 erase all my data?

Lavish Garg October 21, 2014
Pinterest Stumbleupon Whatsapp

I have an HP Pavillion DV6 laptop. It is working too slow. Someone advised me to restore it by pressing F11.

My question is, will restoring erase all of the data on my laptop, or just the drive Windows is located on?

Model: HP Pavillion DV6
Operating system: Windows 7 Home prenium, 64 bit
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU Q720 @1.60GHZ 1.60 GHZ
RAM: 4GB

  1. Jan F.
    October 21, 2014 at 10:52 pm

    From your question I assume you do have a secondary partition where your data is stored?

    I'm honestly not sure if the recovery process will remove that partition but since you will need to backup other data e.g. settings and certain application data from your user profile I suggest you backup any other data along with it.

  2. ha14
    October 21, 2014 at 10:26 pm

    Factory Reset: Factory Reset removes all partitions, reformats the entire hard drive, reinstalls the original operating system, and reinstalls all the original hardware drivers and software. This option also recreates the required Recovery partition (usually D:) and UEFI partition (usually E:) and reinstalls the required software.
    The Factory Reset option returns all of the notebook's software to the condition it was in at the time of purchase. All user changes or additions are removed.
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=uk&lc=en&docname=c01867418

  3. Amir.M
    October 21, 2014 at 7:03 pm

    Yes it will if you select the proper wipe my data and restore my PC to original factory state. Here is a detailed version of what i said :)
    http://h10010.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=us&lc=en&dlc=en&docname=c01443342#N243