I have networked several Windows laptops into a peer to peer Workgroup.
My intention was to move all user profiles off the local machines, onto a NAS drive. I decided to test the Folder Redirection method beforehand, by:
1. Renaming the “Saved Games” User folder on Gemma’s computer, to “Gemma’s Saved Games”
2. Moving the renamed, user folder “Gemma-PC\Users\Gemma\GEMMA’s Saved Games” from Gemma’s Vista computer, to “Ruhul-PC\Users\Ruhul” on Ruhul’s Windows 7 computer.
I was expecting the folder to be moved, so that I would see “Ruhul-PC\Users\Ruhul\Gemma’s Saved Games” on Ruhul’s computer. Instead the contents were moved and it appears that the two locations have been merged in to one, on the network. What has happened is, “Ruhul-PC\Users\Ruhul” has been converted to “Ruhul-PC\Users\ Gemma’s Saved Games” on Ruhul’s computer.
I would be grateful if anyone can advise on how I can reverse what I have done.