How do I recover my iPhone’s OS, preferably with data intact?

Anonymous September 15, 2014
Pinterest Stumbleupon Whatsapp
Ads by Google

I am trying to upgrade my iPhone iOS and in the middle of it, my iPhone is showing an iTunes logo with the apple cable. When I connect it to my PC, it says that my phone is in recovery mode and that it needs to be restored. What should I do? Is my data all gone?

  1. Jenifer M
    September 21, 2014 at 6:53 pm

    Great! Thanks for all your help. I actually went for another software which worked just perfect for me and was a lot cheaper too -

    Editor's Note: Commercial software removed.

  2. Hovsep A
    September 15, 2014 at 6:45 pm

    there are some applications that you can use to backup to pc, videos, pictures, applications...they act as iTunes replacement
    syncios
    http://www.syncios.com/version-compare.html

    iFunbox
    http://www.i-funbox.com/

  3. Jan F
    September 15, 2014 at 4:41 pm

    Did you perform the upgrade directly on the device (within iOS) or using a computer?
    Did you enable iCloud backups?

    Usually when you perform an upgrade using a computer you should have a recent backup since by default it will automatically synchronize itself when connected. In iTunes click on Edit > Preferences. click on the device tab and see when the last backup was performed.

    If you performed the upgrade directly on the device and didn't have iCloud backups enabled your chances look rather slim. Try to press and hold the Sleep/Wake button and home button together until you see the Apple logo. Depending on where the upgrade failed the device might be able to just restart/continue where it left of.

    If neither your computer has a recent backup nor iCloud backups was enabled then you can try third-party tools (I am not familiar with any of them)
    http://www.easeus.com/iphone-recovery/how-to-backup-iphone-files-in-recovery-mode.html

    Other then that there is not much one can do without losing the data. You should always have a recent backup when updating, especially when you do it "on-the-fly" within iOS.