Can I limit visibility of posts to my Facebook wall by others to only them and me?

Snoody September 2, 2011
Pinterest Stumbleupon Whatsapp

I currently have my wall set to read-only. Nobody is allowed to post to it. This is mostly because I have some friends that would post highly dubious things to it (and have in the past) that I wouldn’t want all my work colleagues to see. You can imagine the kind of drunken stupidness people get up to.

So I had to disable all friends from writing to the wall.

It would be nice if I could either allow only specific lists to be able to post, or to allow people to post, but those posts would initially be visible to only me and the poster. They’d never know that not everyone can see it.

Once I see it’s a fairly safe post, I could then change it’s visibility (which according to Jay in another post on this site, is now possible, but I haven’t been able to confirm this).

Ads by Google

  1. NoName poster
    April 22, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    I want to set up a Facebook for a group of alumni but don't want to see all their post (just related post to our specific group.  Can that be done?

    • Susendeep Dutta
      April 24, 2012 at 6:31 am

      Could you please explain your question in detail so that I can help you exactly according to your needs?

  2. Dada
    March 23, 2012 at 11:44 pm

    I have different groups, how can I limit posts to those respective groups only? E.g. if I post something on group1, it will appear on my Facebook wall and all my friends can see what I posted on group1. I don't want my posts from group1 to go on my Facebook wall. Is there a way to privatize that?

  3. TheAhBooBoo
    March 11, 2012 at 10:50 am

    Is it possible for me to limit the visibility of the posts from a certain group of friends? Meaning certain people 's post on my wall wouldn't appear to the rest of my friends.

  4. Nan_peppermint86
    February 24, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    There are some nasty comment post on my wall, is there any way to approve the post before it shown on the wall post?

    • Jay.0
      February 24, 2012 at 4:48 pm

      No, you can disable posting on your wall, or you can delete the post..
      but  the option you are asking is not available.

    • Vlada T
      April 15, 2012 at 1:05 am

       Yes, of course. Choose Privacy Settings, than next to the profile (Timeline) and Tagging heading, click Edit Settings. And than make  Review posts friends tag you in before they appear on your timeline to ON. :)

  5. Lil wayne
    February 14, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    HI i was wondering if you could possibly help i want to limit the visibility of my posts, you know how you scroll to the bottom of the page and more comments etc load up i only want the top page to be visible and dont want others to see these comments if you get what i mean thanks

    • Jay.0
      February 14, 2012 at 9:42 pm

      1) do you want to limit the comments on a post ?
      2) do you want to show only new posts and do want to display older posts which can be seen by scrolling?

      1st is not possible.(yu can only delete the comments)

      2nd :
      Use timeline and hide the old posts by clicking the edit (pencil ) icon on the posts. and select "hide from timeline"

      Apply this to all your old posts, and now, people will see only new posts.

  6. Jahee
    February 11, 2012 at 4:58 pm

    Changing the wall visibility to only me is an illusion of privacy. While it will limit visibility through Facebook, third part apps and searches will turn up the posts.  Facebook shares access with third parties and you will not be asked to approve the content and it will be largely invisible to you through Facebook.  If you do not want posts to be seen on your wall, the best you can do it prohibit them.

    • Jay.0
      February 11, 2012 at 8:42 pm

      The best is not to usefacebook apps, and to click on dont allow :
      When they "Request for Permission" when you use an app on facebook,

      examples of permissions :
      *Access my basic information
      *Send me email
      *Post to Facebook as me (apps can post notes, )
      *Access your data any time(when you are not using the app)

      all these things are asked, when asked to click on "allow".

      and when you click on allow, it is not without your approval.

      Account settings>security>apps
      you can see last data access by apps.
      and you can edit or remove also.

      Do you know any search that reveals private updates like you said ?

  7. K_Z_z3
    February 5, 2012 at 10:50 am

    like this..

    • Hello.
      February 9, 2012 at 10:30 am

       I would also like to know how to configure my settings so my wall is like that picture ^

      • Jay.0
        February 9, 2012 at 10:37 am

        Do you allow subscribers ?Do youhave the same problem ?

        set everything to friends only.

    • Jay.0
      February 9, 2012 at 10:36 am

      you must have applied some settings that enable public to comment on them.

      Set every privacy setting to friends only.
      also if you allow subscribers, choose the setting that disables the comment option.

  8. K_Z_z3
    February 5, 2012 at 10:40 am

    my posts are visible but i want only my friends to comment them. how do i do that?

  9. athrva
    January 23, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    how can i restrict visibblity of my WALL to only my friends??

    if i see my profile from my mothers, i can see my entire wall!!!!! imean whatever i have posted and all....status updates,videos etc......this is coz she and i have 4 mutual frnds.......

    but i want only my frnds to see my wall.....can u help....i tried few things...didnt work.... :((

  10. Freda Tterry
    January 7, 2012 at 1:37 am

    How can I add a students, active students, inactive students and/or class list to fb friends column?

    • Jay.0
      January 24, 2012 at 10:08 am

      you have to create those lists.
      go to home page, and click on more from the lists section.
      then you will see

      or click this link (after signing in):

      And click on create list option.

      You will see an edit option which looks like a pencil.
      using it you can add a list to favorite to make it permanent to th left side column.

      or you can hide a list.

  11. Kaino
    November 6, 2011 at 8:40 am

    I have the same issue. I play FB games, but don't want my friends and family to see all those game posts - it's just a private matter to me, and I'm way too 'cool' to play silly FB games. ;)

    I have made the settings so the visibility (of posts by other people) is "Only Me", and that "Friends" can post on my wall. This doesn't work how I'd like it to work though, because for some reason it blocks everyone from posting on my wall!

    I'd like all my friends to be able to post on my wall, but only I could see those posts.. Is this not possible? 

    • Tina
      November 12, 2011 at 6:48 pm


      are you still looking for a solution to your question?

      It looks like you won't receive a response within this comment thread. From experience I know that you have a better chance of receiving some feedback and solutions when your question hits the front page of MakeUseOf Answers. Hence, I recommend you to ask a new question.

    • Jay.0
      January 24, 2012 at 10:17 am

      account settings>apps
      or click :

      Click on an app to make the posts private.
      Click App activity privacy and set it  to only me.

      If anyone has the same question , try this and give me your feedback.

  12. Rob Zaleski
    September 3, 2011 at 4:00 am

    You can go into your privacy settings>how you connect>edit settings>Who can see wall posts by others on your profile. Change it to Only Me. 
    If there are specific work colleagues that you would rather not see your wall posts, you can actually single them out in the Custom setting as well and make it so that they specifically cannot see your wall posts. Hope that helps!

    • Snoody
      September 3, 2011 at 7:26 pm

      Thanks Rob. That's not quite what I'm looking for, but it's close. However, now that FB have released the option to change the visibility of things on the wall, I can set it to "Only Me" and then once I approve it, I can change it's visibility. Gonna try that now.

Ads by Google