How to delete one of multiple video files on DVD-R disc?

Dr.Sunil Vaswani November 8, 2012
Pinterest Stumbleupon Whatsapp

How to delete one of multiple video files on DVD-R disc? Alternatively, how to copy one of multiple video files on DVD-R disc?

  1. Dimal Chandrasiri
    November 9, 2012 at 8:33 am

    DVD-R is only writable once. if you write once, that's it! no deleting. if you are referring to a DVD-WR ( a re-writable disc ) use nero or any DVD burning software to erase it! even native windows supports deleting function in DVD-WR discs.

  2. Boni Oloff
    November 9, 2012 at 4:33 am

    You cannot delete them. Because it is Read Only Disk.

  3. Rayon Blend
    November 8, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    it depend on DVD-R . you do know your disk is dvd [- ] r which is can delete , not dvd [ + ] r , which is not deleteable

  4. Erlis Dhima
    November 8, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    DVD-R discs are not re-writable. To erase and add other files later, you need a DVD-RW! But, you can write a multisession disc.. In other words, you can add files later (if you have enough space in the disk), but after writing on it, you can't erase the files anymore...

  5. ha14
    November 8, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    DVD-R and DVD+R disks can not be erased. DVD-RW are erasable.

  6. Aniket Singh
    November 8, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    You could use a program like Roxio Easy Media Creator, and when you start Creator Classic with the disc in your DVD burner, it will ask you if you want to "Import" the previous session, which you would click no.
    Then your previous session, though still on the disc, will not be visible. If you said yes, you would have access to both the new and previous recorded files.
    Of course, this is all based on the disc having enough space left to record another session.

    • Douglas Mutay
      November 8, 2012 at 2:00 pm

      Agree with you Aniket.

    • Anonymous
      November 9, 2012 at 12:50 am

      This will only work if the disc was written as a multi-session disc (has not been finalized). If it has already been finalized, no further changes can be made to it. The illusion of "deleting" a file on the disc does not actually remove the contents of the file and the space occupied by it is wasted. All this does is rewrite the disc index omitting the "deleted" file. Also, by not importing the previous session, it will affect ALL files on the disc so if you are attempting to remove one of several files, you will need to import the prior session(s) and remove the index entries for the file(s) you wish to delete yourself.

      • Drew Butler
        November 10, 2012 at 8:41 am

        Agree^

Ads by Google